Sabtu, 28 Januari 2023


First established in 1904, the club was named Stade Saint Germain. It wasn't until August 1970 that the club changed its name to Paris Saint Germain, after Paris FC and Stade Saint Germain decided to merge. PSG's first year in French football competition started in the second division competition. It was only in the second year that they ascended the throne to the first/main division, even though they were finally relegated again at the end of the season. After experiencing a myriad of problems, PSG finally started its golden era at the hands of Francois Borelli, where he served as chairman. Two French Cup titles and one Ligue 1 title were won by the team under his leadership.

Since then, PSG have never again reached the peak of their glory. There have been many scandals and the club has often been in debt. However, PSG can still continue their performance to survive in the top division until now. Paris Saint Germain has several achievements in domestic competition, including 2 times Ligue 1 champions (1986, 1994), 8 times French Cup champions (1982, 1983, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2004, 2006, 2010), 3 Cups League (1995, 1998, 2008), and 2 times French Super Cup winner (1995, 1998). Meanwhile, on the European stage, PSG won the Winners Cup 1 time (1996), and 1 Intertoto Cup winner (2001).

French Cup 2010

Currently, Paris Saint Germain has become one of the richest clubs in the world when the Qatar Investment Authority or QIA, chaired by Nasser Al-Khelaifi, bought 70% of the shares in the club from Paris. Al khelaifi has served as Honorary President of the Qatar Tennis Federation and the Asian Tennis Federation. Al-Khelaifi has served as club president since October 2011.

Qatar Investment Authority

In order to build a new empire in the French League and European competition, Al-Khelaifi brought in a number of well-known board members, including Leonardo as the club's advisory board, and Carlo Ancelotti as coach. The owner of PSG, Nasser Al-Khelaifi has also poured out a large amount of funds to strengthen PSG this season. They have signed Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Tiago Silva, Javier Pastore, Jeremy Menez, Thiago Motta and Alex from Chelsea.

Baca Artikel Terkait: