Sabtu, 28 Januari 2023


Tottenham Hotspur, originally called Hotspur Football Club, was founded by a group of grammar students from the Bible school at All Hallows Church in 1882. The name Hotspur is thought to have been given after Sir Henry Percy, who was also nicknamed Harry Hotspur in William Shakespeare's Henry IV chapter first. Sir Henry owned land in the area where the club was founded, influencing the grammar school's choice of name for the club. In 1884, the club changed its name to Tottenham Hotspur Football Club and Athletic Club in order to prevent the name being the same as another club, London Hotspur. The club turned professional in 1895 and then entered the Southern League.

Sir Henry Percy

At first the color of the team's jersey was dark blue (navy blue), then it changed again to light blue-white, red-blue and brown-gold. Finally, in the 1899-1900 season, they just changed the team's colors to white shirts and dark blue pants, as a tribute to the Preston North End club, the most successful English club at that time. And until now the white shirt is the main dress Tottenham so they got the nickname The Liliwhite which means 'Holy' because their main uniform is white. The club logo is in the form of a cock standing on a ball because Sir Henry has many fighting cocks that have a grumpy character. But the club logo has changed until now.

In 1888, Tottenham moved their home ground from the Tottenham Marshes to Northumberland Park where the club began charging spectators tickets. In 1892, after being persuaded by Royal Arsenal (later to become Arsenal), they attempted to gain membership in the Southern League. However, they were rejected when they were the only one among the 23 applicant teams that did not get a vote. They then turned professional before Christmas 1895 and re-entered the application for admission to the Southern League.

Squad of 1885

This second attempt was finally successful. In 1898 Charles Roberts became chairman of the club which he would occupy until 1943. In 1899, Spurs built their new headquarters near High Road, Tottenham. The stadium was later named 'White Hart Lane', the Spurs' stadium until recently

Tottenham's achievements were never encouraging before finally winning Division One for the first time in the 1950/51 season. The Spurs players at that time included Alf Ramsey, Ronnie Burgess, Ted Ditchburn, Lee Duquemin, Sonny Walters and Bill Nicholson. The "push and run" style introduced by manager Arthur Rowe earned Tottenham respect against opponents and made a team to reckon with throughout the decade. However, the Spurs' second league title was won exactly ten seasons later. One of the supporting factors for this success was said to be the poor condition of the White Hart Lane field, even for that time.

White Hart Lane

In 1958, Bill Nicholson became manager and began one of the club's golden periods. During his 16 years on the team's technical bench, Nicholson won eight major titles. When Nicholson retired, Spurs lost their nails in the Premier League. The Spurs were relegated in the 1976/77 season after 27 years competing in the top tier. This bad fact was followed by the sale of mainstay goalkeeper Pat Jennings to their eternal rivals, Arsenal, which of course the fans strongly opposed. In the 1980s to 2000s, the strength of the Spurs remained to be reckoned with in the Premier League. However, they are only a surprise club that has not really been able to dominate the competition as a team with a winning mentality.

Tottenham Hotspur is the first British club (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland) to win the European Championship, namely the 1963 Winners Cup after winning 5-1 over Atletico Madrid in the Final.

However, currently Tottenham Hospurs are a highly respected team where they are tough competitors on the Premier League stage with their flagship players such as Gareth Bale, Defoe, Lennon, Gallas and others, under the direction of coach Andre Villas Boas.

Baca Artikel Terkait: