Minggu, 15 Januari 2023

ASEAN and the United Nations (Definition, History, Logo, Complete Purpose)


ASEAN is the abbreviation of the Association of South East Asian Nations. ASEAN is also known as Perbara which stands for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. The ASEAN secretariat building is located in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta, Indonesia. ASEAN was founded on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok.
ASEAN was initiated by 5 foreign ministers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines and Singapore:

Representative of Indonesia : Adam Malik
Representative of Malaysia : Tun Abdul Razak
Representative of Thailand : Thanat Koman
Philippines Representative : Narcisco Ramos
Singapore Representative : S. Rajaratnam
Meanwhile, there were other countries that later joined ASEAN, bringing the total to 11 countries, namely:
Brunei Darussalam on 7 January 1984
Vietnam on 28 July 1995
Myanmar on 23 July 1997
Laos on 23 July 1997
Cambodia on 16 December 1998
Timor Leste

ASEAN history

ASEAN was founded by five initiating countries, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand in Bangkok through the Bangkok Declaration. The foreign ministers who signed the Bangkok Declaration at that time were Adam Malik (Indonesia), Narsisco Ramos (Philippines), Tun Abdul Razak (Malaysia), S. Rajaratnam (Singapore), and Thanat Khoman (Thailand).

The contents of the Bangkok Declaration are as follows:

Accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the Southeast Asia region

Promote regional peace and stability

Increase cooperation and mutual assistance for common interests in the economic, social, technical, scientific and administrative fields

Maintaining close cooperation among existing regional and international organizations

Enhance cooperation to advance education, training and research in the Southeast Asian region

Asean logo

The Asean logo carries the meaning of a stable, safe, united and dynamic ASEAN. There are 4 logo colors namely blue, red, white and yellow. This color is the main color of the symbols of ASEAN countries.
The blue color symbolizes security and stability.
Red stands for passion and dynamism
White shows purity and yellow symbolizes prosperity.
The ten stalks of rice symbolize the pioneering ideals of forming ASEAN in Southeast Asia, namely unity and friendship.
The circle symbolizes the unity of ASEAN.


style="text-align: justify;">The ASEAN Declaration states that the aims and objectives of the Association are:
(1) to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region
(2) to promote regional peace and stability through respect for justice and the rule of law in relations between countries in the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.

United Nations

The United Nations or commonly abbreviated as the UN (English: United Nations or abbreviated (UN) is an international organization whose members are almost all countries in the world. This institution was formed to facilitate international law, international security, economic development, social protection, human rights rights and the attainment of world peace.

The United Nations was founded in San Francisco on October 24, 1945 following the Dumbarton Oaks Conference in Washington, DC, but its first General Assembly – attended by representatives from 51 countries – did not take place until January 10, 1946 (at Church House, London). From 1919 to 1946, there existed a similar organization, called the League of Nations, which can be considered the precursor to the United Nations.

Since its establishment in 1945 until 2011, there have been 193 countries that have joined as members of the United Nations, including all countries that have declared their independence and are recognized for their sovereignty internationally, except for the Vatican. In addition to member countries, several international organizations and inter-state organizations have a place as a permanent observer having an office at the UN Headquarters, and there are also those with only observer status. Palestine and the Vatican are non-member states and are permanent observers (the Holy See has a permanent representative at the UN, while Palestine has a permanent office at the UN).

The current UN Secretary General is Ban Ki-moon from South Korea who took office on January 1, 2007, replacing the previous Secretary General, namely Kofi Annan from Ghana.

The organization has six main organs:

General Assembly (main deliberative assembly),
Security Council (to decide on certain resolutions for peace and security),
Economic and Social Council (to assist in promoting international economic, social cooperation and development),
Secretariat (to provide studies, information and facilities required by the United Nations),
International Court of Justice (primary judicial organ),
Trusteeship Board (which is currently inactive).
Other prominent United Nations System agencies include the World Health Organization (WHO), the World Food Program (WFP) and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF).

The six official languages ​​of the United Nations, used in intergovernmental meetings and drafting of documents, are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

The United Nations Secretariat Building is located at the United Nations headquarters in New York City.
5 countries that have Veto Rights: France, China, the Soviet Union (Russia), Britain, and the United States.

The right of veto is the right to cancel decisions, decrees, draft regulations and laws or resolutions.

source: scout

Baca Artikel Terkait: