Sabtu, 28 Januari 2023


The US is not the leading country in football. However, make no mistake, this country has great attention to this one sport. Want to know the proof? Since 1967, in this country there has been a special award given to footballers who have competed in the Student League. His name is Hermann Trophy .

The award was given by The Hermann Trophy Foundation which in 2002 formed a partnership with the Missouri Athletic Club . Initially, this award was only given to male footballers. So, since 1988, as women's soccer has developed in the US, the Hermann Trophy has also been given to outstanding female footballers.

The Hermann Trophy itself basically took the idea of ​​the Heisman Trophy , an award for the best American football athlete at the student level that has been given since 1935. The Hermann Trophy has proven to be able to whip up young US footballers. The proof, some of the recipients of this award emerged as US soccer stars. Among them are Kristine Lily, Mia Hamm, Shannon MacMillan, Claudio Reyna, Alexi Lalas, Tony Meola and Johnny Torres .

Johnny Torres

The procedure for selecting the best players who will receive this trophy is carried out through voting involving members of the Soccer Coaches Association of America . The award itself is held at the beginning of each year, in January to be precise, at the Missouri Athletic Club headquarters located in St. Louis.

The name Hermann itself is taken from the famous US soccer figure, Bob Hermann. He was the first president of the National Professional Soccer League (NPSL), which was founded in June 1966 and launched a professional league called the North American Soccer League (NASL) a year later by collaborating with the formerly opposite United Soccer Association .

Hermann was also very instrumental in bringing big stars like Pele, Franz Beckenbauer and Johan Cruyff to the NASL. More than that, he was also listed as the owner of St. Louis Stars and California Surf who took part in the 1980 season. This series of proof of existence in US football made him into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2001.
source: soccer

Baca Artikel Terkait: